Molesting Nemo

With a short transit in Lombok we arrived to the Gili islands. Spanish speakers will find a clue on the name about who they will find there. The place fills up with a mix of Bali bule and the banana pancake trail usual suspects. A place where hormones clearly outnumber neurons. The beaches are quite average for SE Asia standards. Maybe I became too picky after that much time around this pretty world part. I probably would have loved it if it was my 1st destination. True I only stayed in the party island and didn’t bother visiting the other 2. And I have to admit the 18 years old Julio would have thrown an epic party there, very likely leading a horse into one of the divers pools. Actually there is a a band playing pretty good reggae every night. The matter maybe I am just to old but I don’t agree with the backpackers consensus according to which places like Pai, Gili, Tongsay or the 4000 Islands are cool. Of course if you meet the right people you will have good fun but they are as much theme parks as much as places like Bali, Phuket or Bangkok despised by them, just catering to different costumers and budgets.

Anyway I stayed at a friend’s and had a good time there chilling out, drinking and mainly diving. As my friend works there as a diver instructor I decide to to my PADI advanced certification. It comprised of 5 dives including a nigh one and a challenging extreme hangovered dive. Now I have a title that allows me to dive down to 30 m and show my genitals to the aquatic life. With the dive master (next step) you can dive on mushrooms and put your finger up marine creatures anal cavities.

The diving in Gili was much better than at the Koh Tao factory and for most dives it was just my friend and me. I saw lots of cool shit: parrot fish, butterfly fish, huge turtles, gay fish, surgeon fish, manta ray, nemos, octopus, morenas, not giving a fuck fish, unfortunately no sharks…

...neither barracudas
…neither barracudas

Sadly the Gili was the end of the bule gila team. Time to say goodbye to Jesus. You can find him now halting motorbikes at Valencia streets. Saman jumpa teman. Terima kasih. Hope life brings you lots of wanita and ayam.

Just another sandal tree
Just another sandal tree
Leave a Reply

