Hit the Road Jack

When in Toraja I met some friendly locals over tuak drinking. They took me with them to a market in the mountains and for some sightseeing, nice people. I agreed to meet them in another town when back from my trekking as we were going same direction. Road trip, yeah! Apparently 2 of them work as kind of detectives for a magazine that search for corruption cases. Really? corruption in Indonesia? You kidding…

My gang
My gang

P1020503

As well they were selling traditional medicine and other stuff at village markets, task in which I joined them for a couple of days. If you go to Sulawesi middle of nowhere markets you can find a picture of me promoting Papuan magic remedies next to the ones of naked men with penis gourds.

Cheap Julio on sale. You just need to feed him with rice and beer
Cheap Julio on sale. You just need to feed him with rice and beer

I had a great time and even taught them how to play shithead in Indonesian. They wouldn’t let me pay for anything. One of them seemed quite well-off. He has 4 wives and still some love left to share at the evenings with the professionals.

Leave a Reply

