Pippi Långstrump

5 months I spent in old Europe before I had a semistable destination. One thing that stroke me is how hipsters and runners reproduced all around during the year I was out. I don’t know how these pests spread, but I feel I have been a bit infected from both.

A new period in my life started with a flight to Copenhagen, my bicycle, and a backpack. After landing, I crossed The Bridge that gives the name to the tv serie and connects Scandinavia with Europe. I don’t consider Europe any of those countries where alcohol is not sold in regular shops or supermarkets, will get back to this later.

The arrival in Lund was smooth thanks to an amazing Couchsurfer who showed me around and let me use his house as long as I needed. In a few days, thanks to CS again, I managed to get a room in a students’ corridor where I would live for about a month. Good place, good people.

The first connection I remember with Sweden as a child was reading Astrid Lindgren books. I think I had a crush on that freckled, red-haired anarchist Pippi Longstocking. The second one was sex-symbol Alfredo Landa chasing Swedish ladies.

Pippi!
way to go

After registering as a new attraction at the tourist office, on my first days, I could get a glimpse of the place and what to expect from it:

Positive thinking. Lund center looks like out of a fairytale, with cobblestone streets, pretty colorful houses (Villekula style) and a medieval thing. It’s very green, with plenty of parks and sports facilities, quiet, clean and peaceful. It’s a cycling heaven, amazing bike only roads are everywhere and almost half of commute is done by this mean, beating Amsterdam. There are 2 Lidls. High living standards. Half of the population are students and people are friendly. Somehow feels the opposite to London.

library - wool tree - danger locals - house
library – wool tree – danger locals – house

Negative thinking. It’s cold and gray. People don’t talk and the streets are way too quiet. Just a bunch of bars. Too many rules and not much to do. Boring. I didn’t learn from the past, is it gonna be like Hellsinki? Noooo!

Which impression would win, you will see in next posts. More pics

On my first Saturday, I made a trip to the pretty Systembolaget. What’s that? A pilgrimage place for most Swedes. The government-owned alcohol shop. Great range, but expensive and opening times suck. They have something at supermarkets they like to call beer but trust me, it is not. Quite often, Swedes travel to Denmark to buy cheaper booze, even some take ferries to Germany. I remember a conversation with my CS host about these interesting “European cheap booze trips”. We can draw some lines, e.g.: Norway-Sweden-Denmark-Germany-Poland-Slovakia, Finland-Estonia-Latvia, Switzerland-anywhere… They have a key role in European integration, like the Erasmus program, Ryanair and hating Germans.

Leave a Reply

